Things to note when migrating web hosts

  • Backup everything! all the files on the hosts. Hostmonster, my previous domain had this thing about increasing the monthly fee $1 per yearly renewal.
  • On domain manger set dns redirect 301 to new host ASAP
  • Find cheap (free hosting) gitpages is nice option for a mostly static website.
  • Don’t forget to change gmail’s mx servers for email redirects or your emails break.
  • I switched to wordpress.com as my blog host instead running my own LAMP wordpress instance. Less work. Export xml for all the posts.
  • That’s all;  Little harder than squarespace but still smarter than myspace.
  • Cons: I’m missing many google analytics tracking and SEO extensions from running my own wordpress.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment